Important Announcement Regarding Service Fees

   

As you know, on March 21st we introduced a new Service Fee scheme. Specifically, newly registered Sellers from that date onwards have been subject to a 20% Service Fee for the first £500 | €600 | $650 earned within the month. For any work billed above said threshold the Service Fee is set at 5% (read more about PPH Fees here).

Established and loyal members, worry not! To date we have honoured the Service Fee scheme that was applicable at the date you registered to avoid incurring any fee increases.

Going forward, so as to be be fair to everyone, we will continue honouring this for our regular and loyal Sellers. Lapsed Sellers who may return at a later date will transition to the new scheme.

Therefore, starting on May 1st if your minimum billing per calendar month is £50 | €60 | $65, you will continue to enjoy your established fee scheme, without any increases. We deliberately set the bar low at only £50 | €60 | $65 in order to make the goal easily attainable!

Bear in mind that if you do miss the monthly goal, you will automatically fall into the newly designed Service Fee scheme. Therefore we advise you to remember to invoice Buyers regularly!

Kind regards,

The PPH team

75 Comments

  • Faryad

    Charge people at will and it would be better than this loyal announcement. Congratulation for becoming the most expensive freelancing platform on the whole planet!

  • mzalewski

    Not sure I’m happy about this. It’s obvious you’re trying to convert existing users over to the newer rates and trying to disguise it as “fair” – and considering that most people will take a holiday., get sick etc I’m sure everyone will eventually be on these rates..

    I’ve never had an issue paying fees, but 20% is a bit much – if you’re going to charge 20%, I really hope there is some new announcement that helps me justify the rate increase.

    Maybe 2x payment processing times per day, 12 hours apart? And on weekends? Better integration with other services? Filtering of unrealistic clients/projects?

  • Paul

    Not at all greedy, no? Given I run SaaS platforms, I -really- don’t understand how you can justify this. It doesn’t cost -that- much to run a SaaS platform properly…

  • Kelly

    Many thanks for all of your responses on our service fee announcement.

    PeoplePerHour have always been committed to serving our community in the best possible way and from time to time this does mean raising the commission on site. As a company we invest our profits back into the platform to make constant improvements and the recent increase in commissions is to help us to continue to do so. To that end, we always value feedback from our community and we’d love to hear from you if you have any suggestions for changes you think we can make that would improve your experience. Please visit our Feedback Requests Forum and let us know!

  • Paul

    Kelly,

    We appreciate that there are costs associated with running the site – we’re not disputing that. But let me answer your request for suggestions on changes with a question:

    How many people are you prepared to lose to other platforms due to this change? For those of us who are VAT registered like myself, for example, if we were forced onto that structure because of a “dry month”, we get £300 out of the first £500. I would be far happier to pay a monthly subscription as with other platforms than this.

    If my account were ever forced onto that structure, then I’m afraid I would go elsewhere. It’s not like there’s a huge amount of work on PPH compared to other platforms, either.

    If you’re having to increase fees by that much then perhaps you need to be looking closer to come as your costs are clearly too high.

  • Paul

    *closer to home

  • Derek Thompson

    We all understand that you have a business model to keep PPH sustainable. The best way you can support freelancers who use PPH is to ensure that jobs are only allowed on to the site if they pay – at the very least! – the UK living wage.

  • Adam

    20% ?? For what?

    Pure and simple it’s a cash grab.

  • Donald

    This is just plain ridiculous! This will only further push those that are struggling, or those that are new further and further away! Newcomers and struggling regulars are already stifled from stiff competition, and deal with many buyers who want to charge abysmally low rates that cannot make a living, so what are they supposed to do? Charge even higher prices to counter the fee, and struggle even more from lack of trust and familiarity? And we wonder why gaps grow so large sometimes…

  • Polly Player

    “Established and loyal members, worry not! To date we have honoured the Service Fee scheme that was applicable at the date you registered to avoid incurring any fee increases.”
    This is not actually true… I joined in 2012 on the fee system BEFORE the one before this, and after a honeymoon period of a year or so, was moved onto the newer system…

  • Zoe S.

    I don’t think anyone is disputing that you have running costs that you need to cover. However:

    – There are at least three days in any given month when the platform falls over/the dashboard is unavailable
    – Far too many jobs are simply there clearly for no other purpose than to test the market rate, and are never awarded
    – Perfectly innocent messages are being moderated out of workstreams for hours at a time, making time-sensitive discussions a nonsense
    – At least three clients have mentioned that they don’t receive notifications, or don’t see messages in the workstream that have NO trigger words or reason for moderation; they just aren’t there
    – Two regular clients in recent months have disappeared from PPH, never to return (or their ‘last seen’ would appear to indicate that this is so), both of whom had been complaining about the messaging issues in the weeks prior
    – Email support appears to have completely vanished in the past month (I had an urgent issue on behalf of a client last week, and no one ever responded – thankfully it resolved itself)

    Provide a platform that actually works reliably, and you might be able to justify the cost. Otherwise, 20% is taking the proverbial.

  • Eno Eteng

    I would have been happier if something was given to Sellers such as extra connects. Why would I have to get stuck with my 15 connects and still have to pay 20% of work done with such a measly amount of Connects? At least on Upwork, I get to bid for 30 jobs with free connects. Here, we pay for everything: profile features, extra connects, etc!

    Now I hear that new users also have to pay for their applications to be approved same day; something every other freelance site does for free. Why is this the case?

  • Marc

    WOW a random 20% charge for what? Just another example of a good idea turned nasty due to greedy manipulators. Sing me out, I am gone. I would not have minded if part of the fee went to someting worthwhile like animal charity but to enrich profiteers is a bit rich. I will be spreading the word with all my contacts. A good idea turned bad due to greedy corporate people.

  • Ionut D

    They are copying Upwork.

  • Alice

    I have to join in here and express my displeasure about the fees. I really love the platform, its interface and user friendliness, but as someone else mentioned, the service is not better than what you find on other less well-designed but less expensive platforms. One of the main issues is that many credits go wasted on projects that never get awarded and buying more credits is expensive, so some of us end up not bidding on projects that we are interested in because we only have 15 credits a month. Wasting free credits on fakes or on people who set unrealistic budgets is one thing, wasting money on it is just not acceptable. The other problem is that such fees make small jobs just not worth taking up, and some freelancers are on these platforms exactly for the small kind of flexible projects that can be adapted to their other jobs or commitments.

    Overall, this makes me feel like you are trying to make money out of people who are desperate and therefore willing to accept ridiculous payments for their work, as the buyers won’t be willing to pay more just because the sellers pay higher fees. I am also worried that this might create a negative spiral in which the quality of the work, both offered and provided, will keep decreasing, forcing serious professionals to use other platforms.

  • e wright

    For new people trying to get established on this site the cost is extortionate. I joined 2 weeks ago and the fee was 20% on the first £350 earned in a month. Two weeks’ later that was put up to to 20% on the first £500? I will be looking at other sites I’m afraid.

  • Kieran

    PPH fees ‘falling off a cliff again’? Or simply copying Upwork who recently changed their model to a similar system, only to see freelancers leave in mass to other platforms. As a long term PPHer, we all know from past experience, that it’s only a matter of time until either ‘lapsed’ seller limit is raised or everyone is moved to the new model.

    Giving the amount of timewasters/scammers and lack of moderation recently, this is really is an appalling decision. Really just a matter of time now before some enterprising individual sees the ever-widening gap in the market and undercuts you and Upwork. And, like Upwork, you’ll never see those customers again.

  • Allison McCafferty

    “Therefore, starting on May 1st if your minimum billing per calendar month is £50 | €60 | $65, you will continue to enjoy your established fee scheme, without any increases. We deliberately set the bar low at only £50 | €60 | $65 in order to make the goal easily attainable!

    Bear in mind that if you do miss the monthly goal, you will automatically fall into the newly designed Service Fee scheme. Therefore we advise you to remember to invoice Buyers regularly!:

    I think what you forget occasionally is that your loyalty should be to your long term freelancers and you should return this loyalty, rather than constantly pushing the boundaries of what people will put up with. Many of your freelancers are established businesses who find work in many different ways, not only via the PPH platform and there are months where people may choose not to work, have too much work from other places or just want to manage their own workloads without being told where they have to bill from. With over 8 years experience via PPH I have to say if you put me onto the new service fee scheme you would lose my business completely.

    I also agree with Zoe’s comments above, your moderation of messages at the moment is completely overkill and I am often getting emails about messages, and then when I log in to the site, they don’t appear in the workstream. I would address these issues before taking such a large commission from people.

  • Ben

    I think it’s also important to note the change to minimum charging which seems to have been glossed over somewhat and is significant for anyone offering small, low cost projects.

    Where it used to be the minimum charge was £1.20 (£1.00 + VAT), it is now £3.00 (£2.50 + VAT). So, any non-VAT registered sellers offering a £10.00 Hourlie will now be charged 30% which is ridiculous. I, for one, have revised my service offerings to factor this in, meaning I no longer offer clients small, quick jobs at a low price as they’re simply not worthwhile anymore. This is surely to everyone’s detriment – buyers who would have to pay sellers a larger minimum fee for a small project, sellers who lose out on the clients who won’t do that, and PPH for reduced custom.

    For me, what adds insult to injury, is the poor communications around rate rises. Unless I completely missed the announcement, this was not pre-warned. I only noticed when I saw increased fees being taken from the aforementioned Hourlies. It would have been nice to have been given a bit of notice to that my service could have been adjusted ahead of the event.

  • David

    What about the freelancers that do regular big projects that span more than a month? Netting you big money but won’t come under this new rule. This is ridiculous. Might just offer my clients some free hours and move them elsewhere. Shame because other than the fees, I like this platform.

  • Neil Bannet

    Yay! Xenios is the best 🙂 He deserves this 😉

  • Jennifer

    I can only agree with the general consensuses above.

    And as Allison mentioned herself, we run a consultancy that does not draw most its clients from PPH. We do still have a well established profile and have worked on the site for about 6 years now; however, due to the nature of what we sell – and the fact that most of our work is from referrals – we could go one or two months easily without billing on PPH. Then when we would bill, it would be for bigger amounts.

    I also assume the 20% is pre VAT, so actually after this new fee and VAT – it’s more like 30% we’d lose???

    We’ve billed out a decent amount with yourselves over the years but we, like many I’m sure, we will not be paying this increase in rate.

    In regards to your statement, “Bear in mind that if you do miss the monthly goal, you will automatically fall into the newly designed Service Fee scheme. Therefore we advise you to remember to invoice Buyers regularly!”
    Very poorly chosen words, I’m afraid.

    One of the things that sets us apart from others, too, is our service. I will certainly NOT rush to bill out clients, Kelly, just to suit PPH. Sorry.

    We also can’t force a client to pay.
    We wouldn’t want to lose clients because we’ve pushed them to clear their invoice as we needed ‘cleared’ funds that month. Is this really what you are suggesting??

    What if the Buyer is away – or doesn’t pay on time?
    I’ve had clients take months to complete a job – because they are busy and sometimes things take longer than planned.

    Instead of putting all the pressure on sellers to fix PPH’s cash flow issues – again I agree – why not solve the existing issues the site has rather than create more issues?

    I’ve worked with big tech sites – member sites, SaaS etc and you’re making a mistake. A big one.
    You can’t raise your rates with existing customers without HUGE benefits FIRST being shown to said customers.

    Sorry guys, you got this one very wrong.

  • Luke Horsman

    I used to get steady work through this site. For years I built up a decent profile through determination and grit and have returning clients to show for it.

    But now I struggle to find decent projects and clients within the slew of time wasters , spammers and people with no budgets and no respect for professionals on the PPH jobs lists.

    Regulate the website properly , then when that’s back to how it used to be , charge me the extra money.

  • Matt

    So essentially you’re aiming to punish your loyal and returning visitors if they dare take a holiday, get sick, or have any other reason why they’re unable to bill £50 in a 30 day period. And for your less active users, you’re giving them even less incentive to consider your platform for future work as you plan to make it insanely cost prohibitive.

  • Jude Irvine

    I agree with a lot of the previous comments. 20% fee and maintaining you are being fair to you loyal PPH’ers? I think not!! If this site were in fact attracting quality buyers who actually want to pay a reasonable rate for services, rather than having to trawl through pages of adverts wanting services for a few £’s per hour or a fixed rate of £50 for 40-100 hours work (yes, they’re are pages of these jokers!), then perhaps you could justify your fee structure. However, the quality of listings is ridiculous and I will not be wasting my time any further with PPH. Goodbye!

  • Sam Wood

    I completely concur with the other opinions being expressed here. We all understand the need to cover running costs but this new structure takes no account of the fact that a freelancer may not always invoice or work every month. This would be far fairer if it were an average set over a number of months. As it stands, if I don’t submit an invoice for £50 one month I’m immediately shifted to the new, more expensive model. That’s hardly fair.

    Also, as mentioned by others too, there’s a vast number of jobs on PPH which are either not awarded, people trying to scam freebies or offering rates which don’t even come close to the minimum wage. I could spend all month on PPH bidding for jobs and not being awarded a single one, with my bids being eroded by jobs which fall into one of these categories. Clearly if I’m bidding and trying to secure work I’m not a “lapsed seller” but if I am unsuccessful in getting work one month I’m being hit with the double whammy of being shifted to the more expensive commission structure.

    This is unfair in the extreme but judging from the response from PPH they don’t really care.

  • SEO Rank My Business

    Thanks for update, may be its going very clear.

  • MArk Beswick

    THAT IS DISGUSTING !!!
    Let me get this straight, if we only manage to make £600 in a month we only receive £495 of it ? so you take a whopping £105 from us ? Maaan thats unreal, loan sharks take less cut than you. Add that to the fact your de-valueing british freelancers with a site now diluted with indian developers who work for peanuts in a completely different economy to ours, THATS IT FOR ME, im done with your website as are my team.

    Make up you excuses as much as you like. You are taking advantage and nothing more. You clearly do not care about your loyal customer base !!

    I know someone who will be very interested in publishing this in a freelance magazine so watch this space 🙂 Well done in making one of the best 3 freelance websites into probably one of the worst. You will soon learn what happens to greedy companies.

  • MArk Beswick

    just wow

  • Anna Kryzhanivska

    The worst idea ever…
    I work here for 2 years and I have TOP cert.
    I join most comments above that pph falls to often, notifications don’t work properly, messages disappear from workstreams and these new fees and rules are just disgusting!
    Hey guys, just think again about these “fair” scheme and cancel them before it’s too late, as it looks like I’ll have to replace myself somewhere else from pph and thousands of other guys too.

  • S Miscandlon

    This is just disgusting. I have a long-term client on PPH who I have been invoicing for £200.00 every 4-6 weeks since 2011.

    When I started the job I was paying 4.5% commission (£9.00) leaving net earnings of £191.00.
    You later increased service fees to 18% including VAT (£32.55) leaving net earnings of £167.45.
    You’re now increasing your fees to 24% including VAT (£48.00) leaving net earnings of £152.00.

    In what way is this rewarding long-term loyalty?

  • Pedro

    An app Android / iphone would be good again please. The mobile web app is always full of bugs and logs out evey time you go out of the browser. Surely but now you can invest some of these fees into getting the app back up and running again? Helps when on the move etc.

  • Stephen James

    20% !! So, after taxes and PPH has taken its chunk, freelancers will be lucky to see 50% of any fee for a job. (And given the ‘race to the bottom’ that characterizes much of this site, that’s usually 50% of not very much.) The good news is that there are lots of options for freelancers to find work out there, so this announcement helps clarify exactly which of those options aren’t worth focusing any effort on.

    Good luck with attracting and retaining quality freelancers in future, because I reckon you’ll need it!

  • Faryad

    Kelly,

    I have reported more than 100 bugs and feature requests over the years and VERY FEW of them have been fixed or added. Those were mission-critical. The platform is getting worse and worse each day and more expensive as everyone can see.

    Nevertheless, according to my past experience, I prefer not to talk much because it leads to nowhere on this platform. Keep losing more people/pros.

    Regards

  • Liam D

    This site is made for freelancers not large corporate companies. 20% + VAT is very expensive I would be better marketing my services via Google or Facebook. What does not help is international sellers undercutting you for less than minimum wage. I never know what you are charging me per job and often I end up making allot let than expected. We need to pass these costs on to our clients and often they go else-wear because the prices are too high. I have had a number of buyers become abusive and threatening and you offer no support. I like many will be reviewing alternative platforms.

  • Marco Daniel Ferreira Carapito

    I will leave a short opinion here, regarding pricing:

    The reason I left Upwork and dedicated solely on PPH, was their business fees and payment security delays.

    Looks like PPH copies the fees part. I will be leaving if PPH makes any sort of payment delay as well.

    Thank you

  • Derrick

    Just like I left Upwork after greed prevailed, I will be making this a short stay too, If you guys present it as you guys have too many shenanigans. You have to know that we do not have to use your service there are many other ways/choices options, don’t over reach and take things for granted you don’t grow business like that- Being greedy.

    I was charged a fee for someone canceling on me because after starting he realized it was too difficult and he could not figure it out and did not want me to delayed further because of his inability- he fairly and rightfully admitted he could not do the job so he advised me he was going have to return the deposit and did then PPH took a fee from me- That’s an example of greed and bad business.

  • Eric Zebu

    Thank you very much!
    That’s fair play.
    The strength of a freelancing platform is in its back-office service, development team, and hardware infrastructure.
    Increasing the fees is legitimated once some transparent goals are guaranteed to the user.
    Using such funds in research and development for the comfort and productivity of the optimisation of the hiring process of freelancer: that’s great!
    20% is acceptable and fair, and common in the industry.

  • Lea

    Curious if you fall below the 50 threshold for just one month, are you on the new fee scheme for life? Or if you attain above 50 in sales the next month can you go back to your original scheme?

  • Mabelle

    Kelly,

    The reason why I freelance is because I want to have a choice when to work and when not to. I understand that laying off work for a couple of days weeks will make my cert ranking suffer and that’s fine by me – that’s the price I have to pay. But to penalize me for not working by making me “fall” into the new 20% scheme doesn’t seem right.

  • Ulrich

    Looks like the straw that will break the camel’s back!
    If someone earns 600 Euros in a month, he will get charged 120 Euros by PPH.
    120 Euros for running a marketplace?
    I wouldn’t mind so much the 20%, if the threshold had not also been increased quite a bit.
    Time to look for other platforms I guess…

  • Sean

    So apparently the first line of the second paragraph ‘…worry not!’ is completely misleading, because you are not honouring those that have supported PPH for many years and paid £1,000s in fees, but creating a situation where they can be taken onto this new fee arrangement.

    It is all well and good to say that it is attainable, but you’re not working under arrangements where work is periodical and often unpredictable and it is indeed not uncommon, even as someone who has billed £10,000s through PPH, I didn’t bill anything in July last year. This would have resulted, under these new rules, for me to have been subject to these new rates.

    in terms of PR this is appalling. Not a good move at all!!!

    This is the third or fourth time in recent years that PPH has increased its rates (for new joiners), but this last extra element is completely uncalled for. For the sake of what? You risk alienating and annoying your most experienced and oldest customers. Ridiculous.

  • Chris Plummer

    The change to freelancer fees is bad, but at least we can absorb this as marketing costs and account for it in our pricing, the change to buyers fees, however; are worse, far worse, it’ll just out them off, well the more serious ones anyway and there’s precious few of these on PPH.

    Looking at an average fee of £2,500 previously this would cost the client £47.50 to load to the system, it will now cost them £125.60, they won’t push to this, 1.9% was bad enough.

  • Umer Farooq

    PPH clearly has no intentions of respecting the loyalty of its rather most precious asset (the long-time sellers), who earns them these fee cut that they mostly runs on. It is ridiculous to ask them to raise up these regular invoices because most of the Top Sellers like me, surely have good work relationships in place and sprints designed which may well go unpaid over a month easily (based on the size of the projects).

    Over the time, I have got PPH a number of buyers from other platforms and my personal contacts, merely for the reason that it’d remain cheaper as a service. Now, that advantage going out the window, I don’t believe I can keep on convincing the clients anymore.

    One or many of the following would happen from when the new service fee is imposed on the long time sellers,

    – They’ll leave the platform (and for good) since for top cert sellers here, it is not a daunting task by any means to find work elsewhere
    – They’ll stop inviting external buyers/clients to the platform
    – They’ll figure out ways to cheat the PPH system (and there are many to avoid this new service fee structure :))
    – They’ll start invoicing their clients out of PPH (and trust me, it is not a difficult task for a seasoned freelancers to convince even the new client to move out of PPH for payments etc)

    Knowing that there’d be no action from PPH management to fix it (based on similar requests and cross discussions in the past), but it is our responsibility to raise up our concerns on the matter, importantly for them to learn from these arguments later on.

  • mesut can

    nice

  • More Fees Please

    This is ridiculous! On top of everything, dont forget PPH will charge you 20% VAT on that 20% fee…
    It was nice while it lasted, goodbye greedy platform.

  • Moh

    Bear in mind that if you do miss the monthly goal, you will automatically fall into the newly designed Service Fee scheme. Therefore we advise you to remember to invoice Buyers regularly!

    Is this Saw movie ?

  • Glen

    And on top of this we have to pay tax to the government.

    Well played and bye bye

  • Aliya Ambreen

    We are the freelancers not an employee. Sometimes we get more than one project in a month and earn more money in a month, sometimes the one project take’s more than a month. I personally prefer to take one project at a time because I don’t want to effect the quality of my work, my major concern is to satisfy my client.
    The conclusion is that I really do not like this NEW SERVICE FEES SCHEME, this will put extra pressure on freelancers mind. that we have to earn more than 50 pounds on every month at any cost, then how can we concentrate on our work.
    I am actually very disappointed.

  • Glen

    I think you need a new name, one combining your top sellers as they’ll be the only ones who remain. It’s a bit like a commission-based scheme where you earn little and often but you won’t get any payment until you reach the threshold. WAY too much pressure to justify sticking around for anyone that doesn’t already have an existing client list purely through PPH.

  • Chris Plummer

    oh, I see you’ve stopped even telling buyers there’s a fee during the checkout process, it just gets added on…..

  • Adrian Hewitt

    This could be the death knell for PPH. 20% commission + the vat brings it to 24%. The knock on effects will be;

    Prices go up to factor in the rise. Buyers will then either go elsewhere, or use less experienced sellers where the work isn’t at the level desired, hence disappointing the client who will then no longer use PPH.

    Encourage sellers to take clients off line, meaning PPH will lose commissions entirely.

    It’s clear that this £50 per month minimum, or your commission goes up, is designed to slowly ensure that more and more PPHers are put on to the 20%.

    I’ve noticed lately that there has already been a sharp decline in jobs being posted, as well as the quality. Last month, of the 30 proposals I submitted, only half were actually awarded. This doesn’t just eat up credits but wasted a lot of time on writing proposals for people who are looking for cheap labour, or simply on a fishing trip. To add insult, despite this you have the temerity to charge for further credits.

    The questions asked, rarely get posted up, despite adhering to the PPH t&cs. Yet fraudulent posts, such as the one I received a week or so ago, purportedly from PPH customer services, slip through. It was directly to me and stated that PPH had awarded me £5,000 for my loyalty. It was sent internally, so looked genuine. I reported it and all that came back was a message saying ‘whoops, sorry about that, it slipped past our moderation’. No announcement was made warning others of this potential fraud attempt (it requested personal information so the £5,000 bonus could be processed).

    Payments are being processed slower, too.

    So, in short, the site is getting worse in functionality, security, communication and jobs on offer, so your answer is to hike up the commission. Has this really been thought through?

    All it will achieve is to drive good freelancers away from the site, and leave PPH vulnerable to someone starting a similar business model, but with a lower commission.

  • Sally

    I feel completely demotivated! One of my regular clients now wants to quit using PPH and I am sure that he is one of many. I have worked hard to build up my ranking but I know feel that I may have wasted my time. One late payment from a client could see me converted to the new system and then I would have to give up on PPH because it simply wouldn’t be worth my while to take on the work.

    I think that it will soon be time to move on to pastures new.

  • Lisa

    The service PPH offer isn’t amazing – if you are charging premium rates give a premium service. If I’m paying for champagne don’t give me a glass of water.

    1. If I rate someone 5 out of 5 why do I then get an email with a rating going up to 10 for the same job to find out the rating again that the other party will never know about. Secret ratings/monitoring seems extreme.

    2. No messages were coming through for ages and now I get most messages twice and some messages not at all.

    3. Then I have to put up with people messaging me offering to “do the job” and I have to respond to tell them they are in the wrong part of PPH and that they are messaging me about an advert that sells MY services. If I don’t message them PPH email me “you have an unread message. Respond within x amount of hours or we will downgrade your account”

    What is the incentive to join PPH for new people?? I really don’t know.

  • Matt G. Leger

    I appreciate that your costs for running this site are probably going up, as most people’s do, and that users who don’t make any transactions in a given month are a net loss for you. But I have been discouraged from using PPH for some while now as it is, since it becomes disheartening to bid against 80 or more others for the same job (almost always with a low-ball piecework amount offered) and get no response. Hiking my cost to 20% of any transaction just for not being able to make whatever £50 currently comes to in US dollars one month is probably going to be the last straw.

    If you actually showed some improvement in your service as a result of your alleged re-investment of profits back into the company, I might be more inclined to tolerate the higher fees. But judging by the comments I read here, long-standing problems are still not being remedied and complaints from long-time users – you know, the ones you’re supposedly so loyal to, like me – go unanswered with anything but typical PR boilerplate replies.

    You people need to rethink this whole scheme, and pronto. There have to be other ways to compensate for rising costs besides gouging your most reliable users.

  • Ian

    The new fee will impact everyone, we all now that, poor attempt to disguise.

    The big issue on the site is quality of buyers, to many low budget jobs these days, attract buyers with proper budgets and you can justify a premium as is afraid not.

    Implement a filter, advise clients their job can;t be posted as they do not have a sufficient budget. Do that and you can justify a premium.

    You completely fail to regulate sellers who spam in the clarification board, sick of reporting it, how many jobs go grey (client gone) and stay that way, sort that and you can justify a premium.

    Upwork is bad, however they have more large budget jobs, guru is small however they have more large budget jobs.

    You get the idea, sort out your offering & then you can justify a premium.

    Regards

  • adrian beesley

    So I can’t take a few weeks holiday without being punished?
    If I invoice a client and they are late paying I get punished?
    (And if they simply never pay I’ve never had any useful support from PPH at all.)
    If I take on a big job that spans more than a month (and earns PPH lots of money) I also get punished because I only invoice when the job is complete.

    Great way to piss off the longtime PPHers who built your business. If you really want us to not worry then reward a longterm seller with reduced rates, not increased! If that’s your idea of loyalty then of course the top-rated sellers will soon find work elsewhere.

  • Les King

    While you are entitled to charge whatever you like, please don’t dress-up a massive fee increase as being ‘fair’.

    Although I have gained a lot of business from PPH over several years, it can be quite ‘sporadic’ – most of the projects are initially ‘one-off’ and, while I do get quite a lot of repeat business, this is by no means a regular monthly commitment.

    As I understand it, one only needs to fall-down on the minimum for a single month in order to be charged the higher rates forever after.

    And what exactly are all of these ‘improvements’ to the platform?

    I can’t say that I have noticed much change in the last year and there are several niggling problems:

    1/ Irritating notices keep popping-up, which get in the way of typing the bid and are difficult to clear.

    2/ Where the client has a specific budget, you force a minimum bid in the name of ‘fairness’, even where my judgement suggests that the budget is far too high – you don’t operate the same ‘fairness’ policy with regard to maximum bids, presumably because that would reduce your fee.

    3/ Where there is no budget, I am often advised to make a higher bid, based on other bids which have been made – that seems to work directly against the interests of the buyers.

    4/ And what can you say about support – If I have a problem, it takes about 3 days to get any response and that is usually to a question I never asked.

    5/ there doesn’t seem to be much in the way of malware protection – I have downloaded several viruses from PPH and won’t now touch any ZIP files which seems to be the main way of hiding them.

    6/ Neither does the seller get any real protection from PPH – last year, I was ripped-off by a buyer who demanded a discount for an agreed fixed-price job before he would pay the bill – in reality, he had been overdue with several previous invoices and only challenged this one well-after it was due for payment.

    Last week, he was advertising again on PPH and it took 5 days to get a non-response when I pointed this out.

    As night follows day, the new supplier will have difficulty in getting paid.

    I think that 20% fees are far too high for what you offer – they were reasonable but you are now charging a ‘Rolls Royce’ price for a ‘Skoda’ service.

  • Davey Joe Mcclure

    This is ridiculous, let me get this straight. First of all there is limited bids and a charge if i want to apply for more, 13/15 times the person posting the job doesn’t even reply within the month or at all, so that bid is basically gone. Even then the buyer pays under the working wage and you still take a cut from it. Is there even any kind of vetting on the buyer side of things… but then Hey psst It doesn’t matter how skilled you are because you can just pay the charge to be featured, thats fair ammirite?
    The website is so clunky and occasionally doesn’t even work, once you send a proposal that’s it. You better hope you haven’t made a error because unless they reply, that miss spelling or lack of a vital portfolio piece will be looming over you like a dark cloud.
    You are the struggling to my artist.

  • Leandro

    It seems to me that there is an increase in fees every year, sugar coated with empty promises of nothing. Already prices have hit rock bottom and you have 60+ bids on some projects, bids for which we also have to pay. This is looking increasingly like the new freelancer.com, only that there you get practically never ending bids for a very low price, while here they cost significant money.

    Quite honestly, what is the point of staying here? Have you calculated how much money a freelancer would make in here now? I am pretty sure most freelancers work on multiple platforms and personally i am already focusing elsewhere.

  • Alvin B.

    Keep

    calm

    and

    don’t

    put

    all your eggs

    in one basket.

  • melvin

    I was shocked that after purchasing a Service and the Seller cancelling because she was not able to complete the Job, that PPH charges a cancellation fee.

    So in case you want to re order from another seller you cant, unless you deposit more funds and incur yet more charges.

    Definitely not a friendly platform and the fees charged are really without merit

  • Sotiris

    The one ridiculous decision after the other…

  • Ivan

    I don’t usually write comments on here, but I have to say I find it difficult to understand people’s concerns over this. It’s probably due to my own interpretation of the situation, but paying $30 more doesn’t seem like that big of a deal. Regardless of where you live, the platform itself presents you with so many opportunities to do what you love and to earn money while doing it and if you are making more than $600 per month, I really don’t see how $30 is a big issue.

    Times are rapidly changing and even though the platform itself has its drawbacks it is by far the best platform for freelancers out there. I’ve had experiences with multiple platforms and had to deal with customer support on many of them and PPH is by far the most responsive and caring from all of them.

    What’s more, on other platforms, including UpWork, I do feel like the next worker with clients being the top priority, while I here I do believe that PPH takes far more care in motivating and making their freelancers feel like true professionals.

    It may take them some time, but they’ve always responded to people’s requests and I do feel like they are moving in the right direction.

    Plus, if you don’t have AdBlock, you might be able to see that they are constantly promoting their content out there and in fact I was wondering last month how they manage to cope with the costs of this advertising push.

    In fact, if you’ve seen a huge raise in views of your hourly, seemingly unexpectedly, chances are they had you featured on an ad. Yes, their ads directly include the people’s hourlies. So it is as if you were paying for your own promotion.

    There is a rise in clients who are testing the waters, but PPH are dealing with that as far as I believe. And this only reflects that their ad campaign was in a sense successful.

    Plus, their new competition leads me to believe that they will again push with a new ad campaign.

    As other comments have mentioned, there’s nothing stopping you from trying out new platforms and not “keeping your eggs in one basket.” In fact, I encourage you to try out different platforms and to find the perfect one for you.

    For some, the right platform might be another one, for me personally it is PPH, because I love the community, the support and the way the platform is built, allowing you to express the professional you are, instead of simply trying to appeal to clients.

    That’s about it. Just wanted to share my thoughts.

    Cheers,
    Ivan

  • Kelly

    Hi Melvin,

    I’m very sorry to hear of your frustrations. Do please email us at support@peopleperhour.com for some assistance with this. Thank you and Happy Easter!

  • David Robinson

    20% for the first £500? I’m lucky enough to be on the old charging system which is probably around a third of what you have hiked it up to. However, if I ever get put on the 20% system I’m gone (like thousands of other people on here I would imagine).

  • Asanka

    I’m getting sick of PPH as a buyer. Far too many low quality sellers who flaunt others work. PPH doesn’t do any form of verification and buyers end up footing the bill. Ultimately, this affects those good sellers and buyers alike.

    Not only have they increased sellers fees, now we pay buyers fees for every transaction as well. Might be a matter of time before there’s an exodus of buyers/sellers.

  • Rob

    Here I was thinking that I was the only person not happy with the increase but from what I can see there are MANY unhappy people… I think that this type of change will lead many people to move to other Freelancing websites, myself included…

    I already miss out on a lot of work by “clarifications” taking ages to be verified and on weekends well….. this is pretty much non-existant – aswell as support – There have been many times when I have contacted support and been told to “send another email in a couple of days” – Also would this 20% increase mean that the fake users that are “supposedly moderated, checked and verified” would dissappear? Over the last couple of weeks there have been many situations where jobs have been posted with Viruses in attachments and are STILL on your website despite people commenting and reporting to support…. The below example is 2 weeks old…..

    https://www.peopleperhour.com/job/i-need-someone-to-copy-type-some-letters-for-me-1519279

    I too think that existing PPHer´s shouldnt be penalised…..

  • Nancy Callegari

    Do you realise that a lot of ‘strong’ businesses are walking away from this platform, taking a lot of clients with them? I’ve had countless offers to bill privately. It’s happening. People are deserting this site and it will happen more and more, leaving you with what? The dross, the scammers, and the unscrupulous. Can’t you see this? Take advice from many of the business experts who actually use this site. You’re penalising the wrong people

    I received the ‘job’ purporting to be from PPH with a £5000 loyalty bonus. I questioned it and didn’t even receive a reply. It was a very, very authentic looking post purporting to be from customer services. These are the things you should be concentrating on.

    Finally, building up your business whilst also doing the same for ours is achievable. This is the wrong method of doing it. Less is more. Greed is the enemy and will bring everyone down in the long term. I urge you to rethink and come up with attractive ways of encouraging people – not punish, punish, punish all the time.

  • jignesh

    20%?
    Plus vat 8-10 %

    I am not going to use this platform anymore………though I am a TOP cert

  • Umar Bahadoor

    This is ridiculous, I mainly work on large projects which span over few months. So that means, I’ll be automatically switched to the new rate? Looks like a way to prevent this is to have a friend sign up, and then invoice them around £50 every month to make sure I’m not switched. That means giving you £7.5 every month. Can’t you just have that as an option: “for those who done want to be switched to the new rates, you can choose to pay a subscription of £8 per month…”

    I’d pay, but at the same time, there needs to be improved service. Proper moderation of jobs and maybe have a deposit for job placements. Too many jobs that I bid on simply gets canceled. Often the seller is just looking for prices.

    Thanks

  • Michael Watson

    Nice one guys but late for April fools

  • Dragan Beljan

    Why, why greed everywhere?

    This is nothing then one more punch in face, but this time from PPH.

    If this new rule start, im sure most of sealers including me will avoid PPH with regular clients and chose direct payment.

    No sense any more pay more taxes.

    Like people in Arabic country say, Khalivali, mean. I.don’t care anymore.

    R3gards

  • BBD

    WOW! buyers never pay here good amount of money, plus service fee is 20%, i think this time PPH will fall.

  • Graham R.

    This is precisely the direction of travel that caused me to take my top cert and £2k a month billings off this platform some time ago. Quality of buyers and search algorithms plummeted, and professional long-term freelancers on the site are continually expected to subsidise PPH’s poor decision making.

    Nope.

Post A Comment